Joshua’s Bedroom Makeover

I have been working on Joshua’s room makeover for the past few weeks. I have never made time to decorate his room ever since we bought the house 3 years ago. I know, I had quite  a bit of time, right? True. Except I had worked on so many projects that I just did not get to work on his room until now.

Take a look at how his room used to look like before the makeover:

img_5761img_5763

The room was pretty much green, as you can see:) Whoever had the house before decided that green was a good color for those walls.  Well, the green was not very ugly, but it just did not fit with anything else and certainly did not fit with the rest of the decor we were going for in our house.

First, I wanted to create a reclaimed wood accent wall and stain it with different stains. I was thinking of creating the wall out of wood pallets, but when I started looking for wood pallets, I either did not find any close to me or whoever was selling it wanted too much for what my budget was. And so, I had to come up with an alternative idea. One day, I was browsing through Lowe’s and I saw these wood planks:

Empire Company 3.5-in x 8-ft Raw Pine Wall Plank

Empire Company Raw Pine Wall Plank from Lowes

These wood planks are 3.5″x8′ and they come in packs of 6. It looks like they now go for around $15/pack, but a few months earlier when I got mine, I only paid around $11/pack. Since the wall I chose to decorate with planks din not cover a large surface, I decided it was worth the money. I believe I ended up spending around $40 for the entire wall. A big chunk of the wall was taken by 2 doors, the bathroom door and the closet door. Now, if you are able to get wood pallets to work with, go for it! It will have the same effect. Here’s how the wall looked like while it was in the making:

How the planks came along

A few months passed by between finishing the planks on the wall and actually doing the entire room makeover. So, here’s how the room makeover went down:

  1. THE WINDOWAlthough, in general, the longer the curtains the better, this formula did not fit to this room. I felt like the extra long and extra wide curtains took up way too much space on that wall and it made the room look smaller. So, I went for the short curtain look, but I added a cornice to give it a little extra something. You can see how I built the cornice here. Curtains are expensive, so I had to come up with a way of adding curtains, but not to break the bank while doing it. After a few trips to JoAnn, Walmart, Target and a couple other places, I decided I was going with the Duck Fabric from Walmart. It didn’t only have the right price, but it had the color I was looking for as well. Oh, and it blocks the light from the window just like I was hoping for.

img_5796

2. WALL COLOR – Like I mentioned earlier, the green color just did not fit with anything and it was not quite the color that would tie everything together. So, I went for a neutral color. I kind of wanted a gray, but I was afraid I might choose the wrong shade of gray. Anyway, after looking at all shades of gray and not knowing which one was what anymore, I settled on the Sutton Place Grey by ColorPlace. Oh yes, I did buy the paint from Walmart as well, because it makes no difference in my opinion. Especially if you are trying to stay on a budget. A gallon of paint goes for $14.99 which is much better than Lowes or Home Depot. This is what I bought:

3. GALLERY WALLOn the Wall with the planks, I wanted to showcase some of the things Joshua likes. A few months back, Brian found this vintage Merry-go-Round, but I never quite found the right place for it. That Merry-go-Round was a big part of why I chose the decor and color palette in  the room. I wanted to tie the Merry-go-Round into the decor. And, so besides the Merry-go-Round, I found a few other pieces that I thought matched and looked good on the wall. There is one other wall art piece that I am working on to put on this wall, but that is not finished yet:). This is how it looked in the end:

dsc_0243

img_5797

Gallery Wall and a better view of the planked and stained wall

4. ANIMAL THEMED WALLBecause my budget did not include the big animal heads which would have cost me a lot, again, I had to come up with something else. And so, I decided to use the scrap wood in my garage to create these beautiful animal stenciled art wood pieces. You can find the instructions for the project here.

img_5808

And here are a few more pictures of the makeover:

Here is the breakdown of the cost for the makeover:

Paint for the walls – 1 Gallon                                   $14.99

Giraffe Decoration                                                       $13.99

Decorative pillow                                                         $  7.99

Baseboard                                                                       $26.00

Decorations on Gallery wall                                      $12.00

Curtain rod (that went behind the cornice)         $  2.89

Fabric for the Curtains                                                $17.50

Baskets on bookshelf                                                  $13.98

The Golden Owl on dresser                                        $ 8.99

Wood planks                                                                  $40.00

                                                 TOTAL            =              $158.33

Now, what I did not count were the things I already had in other rooms:

The chair – I found the chair at Habitat for Humanity for $40 a few months back. It did not have the padding, which I purchased for $3.99 at the thrift store, plus the fabric for another $2.99 that I sewed the cushion cases out of. In the research of what went on the chair, I had found out the chair was a brand name piece of furniture “Selamat Designs” that goes for around $1,600 with the footstool. So again, that was a great find at the time!

The bookshelves – I bought these two bookshelves at Target a couple years ago. They ended up not fitting anywhere, but I just kept them because I liked them. I believe I spent around $30.00 for both at the time.

The rocking horse – the rocking horse was a gift for Joshua from his grandparents last Christmas.

The cabin bed – I built that cabin bed for Joshua for his birthday. I found a great building plan from Jen Woodhouse. Check out the plan here.

The Dresser – We had the dresser since Joshua was born. I suppose it was a good choice since it fits quite well with everything else.

The Stain For The Planks – I used various stains that I had in my garage from previous projects. I used Dark Walnut and Special Walnut from Minwax and Kona and Sunbleached from Varathane. The planks that are very light I left in their natural color.

I am very happy with the way it turned out. Everything looks just great! And really, most importantly, Joshua L-O-V-E-S his room. What do you think? Share your thoughts in the comments.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. nayardt says:

    It’s so cute! Turned out amazing.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I was quite pleased myself. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Linda Balloon says:

    Looks great! My great nephew hAs a wonderful bedroom. I especially love the animal stenciled tiles and the cabin bed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

